The Shaeffer Family

A look into all that god is doing in the Shaeffer family.

Homemade Baby Food April 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — shaefferfamily @ 2:07 pm

I mentioned in my last post that I am making Cameron’s baby food at home. So, I thought that I would go into a little more detail in this post. I didn’t start making his food because I am completely against processed baby food or because I think that it is bad, I started it because it’s CHEAP!!!! I had read a few things about the benefits of homemade food so I just decided to give it a try. I found several websites that were really helpful.

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/

Since I am just starting out I haven’t tried any of the combination recipes because Cameron is still just getting one food at a time every week or so. I haven’t invested in a food processor yet because I wanted to see if I liked making the food first. I’m sure I’ll be buying one in a few weeks. I found a mini food processor at Target for only $20.00 so I’ll probably get that one. I started out making the foods that were easiest. I made a batch of sweet potatoes, green beans, avacados, and bananas. For the sweet potatoes all I did was bake them and then used my hand mixer (which is now clean!) to get them into a smoother consistency. The green beans I boiled on the stove for about 10-12 minutes and then I pureed them in the blender. For the avacados and bananas I just mashed them and used the hand mixer until they were smooth. With all of them I then filled up an ice tray with the baby food and froze it into cubes. I then put the frozen cubes in a labeled freezer bag.

When I feed him (so far he has just had sweet potatoes) I thaw out a cube (Sometimes I defrost it in the microwave) and then I stir in some diluted apple juice to make it thinner. I use the apple juice instead of water, breast milk, or formula because the doctor suggested that the juice would help keep him from getting constipated.

I am starting green beans with him tomorrow. I’m hoping he likes them as much as the sweet potatoes.

 

2 Responses to “Homemade Baby Food”

  1. Ashley Says:

    I’ll have to check those websites out. I first heard/read about homemade baby food from Ricky’s cousin. She put it on her blog with pictures. Thought it was really interesting. Especially since its healthy and cheaper!!

  2. nancyjones123 Says:

    I also think home made food for babies will be far better and healthy and safe too. I have read in websites about contaminated . So why should I take chances which my baby’s health. No compromise.


Leave a comment